Sources, dates and honest gaps
The aim is a usable planning guide with a visible evidence trail. A missing field stays missing; it does not become a made-up score, a zero or a confident recommendation.
What the evidence means
Operator facts describe the mountain or services as the operator publishes them. They can establish a named learning area or a stated terrain figure. They are not independent testing of lesson quality or evidence of future conditions.
Historical observations need a metric, location, unit and observation period. Where the publisher does not state the averaging years, that limitation remains beside the result. History is not a live report or a forecast.
Editorial assessments explain how those facts may affect an itinerary. They are our reading of the evidence, not invented visits, quotations or personal skiing experiences. We do not publish star ratings, numerical suitability scores or a hardest-resort league table.
How to read a figure or missing field
A mountain figure is quoted with a source and checked date. Its scope matters: combined-domain figures are not relabelled as local mountain figures, and a geographic summit is not automatically a lift-served skiing elevation.
- “not verified yet” means an appropriate source and scope have not been established in this guide. It does not mean the feature is absent.
- Historical means the published period remains attached and is not silently updated to the current season.
- Conflicting evidence means we withhold the affected figure rather than choose a convenient version.
- User-entered estimate means a calculator output derived from the visitor’s inputs, not a market fact or resort quote.
We publish no resort prices or price ranges, and no cheapest ordering. An absent amount is not an inexpensive resort. A network listing is not a complete pass entitlement.
The source register
All dates below are editorial checks in Europe/Stockholm. An undated mountain specification is not a live opening count. These entries document the research, not an automated monitoring promise.
| Publisher / source | Scope and limitation | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Epic Pass resort directory | Current directory; individual pass variants and day entitlements not validated. | 2026-11-06 |
| Ikon Pass product overview | Page labels 26/27 products; used only to establish named destination participation, not quotas or blackout dates. | 2026-11-06 |
| Copper Mountain village guide | Base-area access and terrain descriptions. | 2026-11-06 |
| Copper Mountain: about the mountain | General mountain description and Ikon partnership; opening notice conflicts with homepage. | 2026-11-06 |
| Snowbird official mountain overview | Operator terrain descriptions and published mountain specifications; annual snow figure has no stated reference period. | 2026-11-06 |
| Snowbird on Ikon Pass | Participation only. 26/27 header appears alongside earlier blackout dates; exact entitlement excluded. | 2026-11-06 |
| Crystal Mountain: about Crystal | Washington resort identity, terrain description and operator-published area. | 2026-11-06 |
| Crystal Mountain first-time visitor guide | Arrival, lessons, rentals and parking guidance; recheck date-specific rules. | 2026-11-06 |
| Crystal Mountain trail guidance | Relative difficulty ratings and designated speed-control zones. | 2026-11-06 |
| Crystal Mountain on Ikon Pass | Destination identity and participation; older blackout dates excluded. | 2026-11-06 |
| Vail mountain information | Operator mountain specifications and groomer/back-bowl description. | 2026-11-06 |
| Jackson Hole mountain statistics | Resort at Teton Village; published in-bounds area, terrain categories and backcountry distinction. | 2026-11-06 |
| Palisades Tahoe mountain statistics | Separate Palisades/Alpine statistics and combined resort totals; no live opening claim. | 2026-11-06 |
| Palisades Tahoe Base to Base Gondola | Physical connection and KT mid-station terrain restriction; legacy launch notice not used as current status. | 2026-11-06 |
| Breckenridge mountain information | Mountain specifications, Peak 9 beginner access and BreckConnect base connections. | 2026-11-06 |
| Winter Park mountain statistics | Terrain areas and published mountain specifications; conflicting trail totals excluded. | 2026-11-06 |
| Winter Park: Mary Jane | Separate base and mogul/tree-skiing description; Winter Park and Ikon access mentioned. | 2026-11-06 |
| Big Sky mountain information | Published area/run count, terrain categories and Explorer Gondola layout. | 2026-11-06 |
| Big Sky Lone Peak Tram guide | Ticket-versus-pass tram entitlement and easiest descent classification; no monetary amounts reproduced. | 2026-11-06 |
| Brighton official resort overview | 26/27 lessons and ticket headings, night-riding offering and arrival-planning links. | 2026-11-06 |
| Brighton on Ikon Pass | Network participation only; old blackout dates and inconsistent vertical figures excluded. | 2026-11-06 |
| Jay Peak mountain guide | Named trails, glades and The Zone learning area; historical 2025/26 monthly observations are separate from averages. | 2026-11-06 |
| Heavenly mountain information | California/Nevada footprint, base areas and published terrain statistics. | 2026-11-06 |
| Mammoth winter trail map and statistics | Mountain specifications, named trails and official beginner-map link. | 2026-11-06 |
| Mammoth base-lodge guide | Main, Canyon, Eagle and Village access; lessons/rentals are site-specific. | 2026-11-06 |
| Hunter Mountain information | Learning center, terrain statistics and Hunter West description. | 2026-11-06 |
| Arapahoe Basin official overview | Terrain focus and published area/summit fields; current beginner-terrain banner is not a season-long statement. | 2026-11-06 |
| Arapahoe Basin on Ikon Pass | Network participation; 26/27 page carries earlier blackout dates, so entitlement details excluded. | 2026-11-06 |
| Alta: about and mountain policy | Ski-only policy and general mountain description; projected dates excluded from confirmed calendar. | 2026-11-06 |
| Alta base-area guide | Albion learning terrain and Wildcat/Collins restrictions. | 2026-11-06 |
| Deer Valley skiing guide | Daily-ticket capacity policy, instruction and map links; expansion and table area figures conflict. | 2026-11-06 |
| Deer Valley frequently asked questions | Ski-only policy, checked through official indexed page. | 2026-11-06 |
| Deer Valley guest services | Snow Park, Silver Lake and East Village service locations; prior-season parking timetable not used. | 2026-11-06 |
| Telluride mountain guide | Official map and expert-only hike-to terrain warnings; no route instructions reproduced. | 2026-11-06 |
| Telluride Epic partnership guide | Partner status and physical-card instruction; unseasoned product entitlements not used. | 2026-11-06 |
| Killington mountain statistics | Separate Killington/Pico totals and operator monthly snowfall averages; averaging years not stated. | 2026-11-06 |
| Keystone mountain information | Dercum, North Peak, Outback and bowl descriptions; published trail statistics. | 2026-11-06 |
| Park City Mountain information | Canyons Village, town access and published skiable area; inconsistent snowfall units excluded. | 2026-11-06 |
| Aspen Snowmass mountain overview | Named mountains, general terrain distinctions and shared lift-ticket scope; no single season calendar assumed. | 2026-11-06 |
| Aspen Snowmass on Ikon Pass | Participation only; product-specific mountain differences need reconfirmation because date blocks are stale. | 2026-11-06 |
| Crested Butte mountain information | Operator-published terrain area, trail count and advanced/expert character. | 2026-11-06 |
| Stowe mountain information | Mount Mansfield/Spruce Peak layout, transfer gondola and separate summit/skiing elevation fields. | 2026-11-06 |
| Whitefish mountain statistics | Terrain mix, area and named trails; conflicting lift inventory and vertical figures excluded. | 2026-11-06 |
| Matterhorn Ski Paradise skiing guide | Zermatt/Cervinia international domain, operating-information links and safety advice; domain totals not local-Zermatt-only totals. | 2026-11-06 |
| Chamonix tourist office ski-area directory | Separate valley ski areas, beginner-area entries and public-transport link; not a single connected piste total. | 2026-11-06 |
| Val d’Isère family skiing guide | Savonnette, Easy Skiing areas and Village Perdu limitation; promotional snow/security claims excluded. | 2026-11-06 |
| Ski Arlberg: St. Anton region | St. Anton–St. Christoph–Stuben regional identity, rail-arrival information and stated village altitude; wider Ski Arlberg totals not local totals. | 2026-11-06 |
| Copper Mountain current homepage notice | Homepage said opening was delayed when checked; conflicts with the about-page notice. Not a confirmed season calendar. | 2026-11-06 |
For the numeric monthly snow table, see snow by month. For each terrain quotation and its scope, see the individual resort guide. The calculation formula is defined on the calculator method page, rather than sourced from resort marketing.
When sources disagree
The reviewed material included inconsistent trail counts at Winter Park, expansion/area descriptions at Deer Valley, lift information at Whitefish and snowfall units in some mountain pages. Some Ikon destination pages showed a newer season heading alongside older blackout dates. Those affected counts, conversions and access calendars have not been used to make recommendations.
The Copper homepage’s opening notice also differed from its about page. We did not choose a confirmed season date from that conflict. Readers should check the current operator information for any date-dependent decision.
If you spot a discrepancy, send the page URL and the relevant source to info@skiresorts.app. Please distinguish an operator correction from a personal trip observation; both can be useful, but they are different types of evidence.
Photo credits
Copper Mountain, Colorado. Photograph by Alexa Gaul (lexigee), published 16 February 2016.
- Individual Wikimedia Commons source page
- Original Unsplash photograph
- CC0 1.0 Universal Public Domain Dedication
Commons identifies the scene as Copper Mountain and records its pre-June-2017 CC0 publication. Local derivatives are resized, recompressed and displayed with responsive crops. Checked 2026-11-06 (Europe/Stockholm). The photo is historical, not evidence of current snow.
Other exact-resort photographs are not verified yet.
Homepage video
Short ski-run clip on the homepage, supplied by the site owner. Cropped to remove an on-screen UI icon, silent forward-only loop with a short end-to-start crossfade, and compressed for the web. Not evidence of current snow at any named resort.
Fonts
Inter by the Inter Project Authors. Self-hosted Latin subsets in regular and bold, under the SIL Open Font License.