Cortina d'Ampezzo ski guide
Italy · Editorial review: 8 November 2026.
Early answers
Cortina d'Ampezzo, often called the Queen of the Dolomites, is a cluster of ski sectors around the Ampezzo valley rather than a single connected bowl. The official destination site describes 120 km of slopes on Faloria-Cristallo to the east and Tofana, Pocol, Cinque Torri and Falzarego to the west, with links toward Val Badia. Plan by sector and by ticket scope: a Cortina-area Valle pass is not the same product as the wider Dolomiti Superski network. Ski and snowboard in Cortina, checked 2026-11-08.
Key takeaways
- The Cortina tourism lifts page describes the Cortina ski area as 66 slopes served by 26 lifts; the same page says the Valle skipass covers Cortina (including Skyline and Lagazuoi down to Armentarola), San Vito di Cadore and Auronzo-Misurina for a total of 120 km of slopes.
- Dolomiti Superski, founded in Cortina in 1974 according to the destination site, is a separate 12-valley network described as 1,200 km of slopes on one skipass.
- Town elevation is 1,224 m. A single official resort-wide summit elevation was not published on the lifts and destination pages checked; the official trail map labels named high points such as Lagazuoi at 2,835 m.
- Ikon Pass lists Dolomiti Superski, with Cortina d'Ampezzo among the named shared-day areas and access described as available between 15 November and 15 April.
- Measured weekday, weekend and holiday lift-queue times have not been verified for this guide.
| Who it suits | Treat Cortina’s local sectors separately from the wider Dolomiti Superski and Valle pass totals. Read the assessment |
|---|---|
| Daily budget | No resort prices are published; use your own amounts. |
| Pass | Local Valle and Dolomiti Superski tickets; Ikon lists Dolomiti Superski with shared days. Entitlement depends on the named product. |
| Weekday / weekend / holiday waits | not verified yet / not verified yet / not verified yet |
| Monthly snow evidence | OnTheSnow compiled monthly snowfall and average base depth; see the snow section. |
Verified photo not available yet
No generic mountain is presented as Cortina d'Ampezzo.
Snow statistics
Historical published figures for Cortina d'Ampezzo. These are not a forecast, live report or guarantee of open terrain.
OnTheSnow compiled average monthly snowfall and average base depth. OnTheSnow historical table checked 2026-11-08; season list shows winters from 2012–13 to 2025–26 (2020–21 not shown). Averaging method not stated by publisher.
Line chart of typical snow depth in centimetres. Each point is labelled with its cm value. The line breaks across months with no data. Hatched marks mean no data, not zero.
- Verified monthly value
- No data (not zero)
Scroll sideways to see every month. Hatched slots are no data, not zero snow.
Bar chart of monthly snowfall in centimetres. Each bar is labelled with its cm value. Hatched slots mean no verified data, not zero. Full cm and inch values are in the table.
- Verified monthly value
- No data (not zero)
Scroll sideways to see every month. Hatched slots are no data, not zero snow.
Monthly snow statistics for Cortina d'Ampezzo (centimetres, with inches in parentheses). No data means not verified — it is not zero snowfall.
Swipe or scroll sideways to see every month.
| Metric | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly snowfall | 57 cm (22.4 in) | 85 cm (33.5 in) | 54 cm (21.3 in) | 39 cm (15.4 in) | 0 cm (0 in) | No data | No data | No data | No data | No data | 48 cm (18.9 in) | 43 cm (16.9 in) |
| Typical snow depth | 30 cm (11.8 in) | 48 cm (18.9 in) | 50 cm (19.7 in) | 30 cm (11.8 in) | 20 cm (7.9 in) | No data | No data | No data | No data | No data | 12 cm (4.7 in) | 18 cm (7.1 in) |
Snow reliability
Moderate compiled monthly snowfall, with average base depth on that table typically deepest in February and March
Based on: OnTheSnow historical monthly snowfall and average base depth. Measurement elevation and exact averaging method are not stated. The season list runs from 2012–13 through 2025–26 and does not show 2020–21. May snowfall is published as 0 cm on the same table that lists a 2 cm biggest May snowfall
Sources for these snow figures
- OnTheSnow — Cortina d'Ampezzo historical snowfall — retrieved 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm). Period: Compiled monthly averages as published; seasonal rows listed from 2012–13 through 2025–26, with 2020–21 not shown.
A historical average is not a forecast or a guarantee of open terrain.
How should I plan lift tickets at Cortina d'Ampezzo?
Decide first whether your days stay inside the Cortina Valle area or need the wider Dolomiti Superski network. The official lifts page describes a Valle skipass for the Cortina d'Ampezzo area (also Skyline and Lagazuoi down to Armentarola), San Vito di Cadore and Auronzo-Misurina, and a Dolomiti Superski skipass for all 12 valleys in that network. Check date rules, which sectors your product covers, and how you will move between Faloria-Cristallo and the Tofana–Falzarego side. Enter only the access you will actually use into your own trip plan. Equipment, food and the journey from Venice or elsewhere are separate categories; this guide does not infer a complete day cost from a lift ticket. Cortina lifts and skipass options, checked 2026-11-08.
| Item to check with the operator | Amount shown here |
|---|---|
| Adult walk-up ticket | Not published |
| Advance ticket for your dates | Not published |
| Rental equipment and helmet | Not published |
| Meals and drinks | Not published |
| Complete day total | Not calculated from resort data |
How busy is Cortina d'Ampezzo on weekdays and holidays?
Separate weekday, weekend and holiday waiting times have not been verified for Cortina d'Ampezzo.
| Visit context | Measured waiting time |
|---|---|
| Weekday | not verified yet |
| Weekend | not verified yet |
| Peak holiday | not verified yet |
Hosting the 1956 Winter Olympics and co-hosting the Milano Cortina 2026 Winter Olympics does not, by itself, establish how long a given lift will take on your dates. A travel plan should not rely on an unsupported claim that a particular sector or time will be quiet.
Who should consider Cortina d'Ampezzo?
- Beginners: The destination site says the Cortina ski area has slopes of all grades. Third-party summaries often point beginners toward lower Tofana-area slopes, but this guide does not treat those descriptions as a substitute for the current map and ski-school meeting point. Have the school identify the correct learning location and a safe return plan.
- Families: Cortina’s sectors are not one continuous village ski-out. Check how your group will travel between Faloria-Cristallo and the Tofana–Cinque Torri–Falzarego side, and whether a Valle itinerary is more practical than making a Dolomiti Superski crossing the day’s goal.
- Experts: The destination site notes that Cortina has hosted Olympic alpine skiing, the Women’s Ski World Cup and the 2021 World Championships. That history identifies the place; it does not mark which steep runs are open, steep or in condition on your date. Use the current piste map and local safety information, especially if you plan to leave marked runs.
What is the terrain like at Cortina d'Ampezzo?
Keep Cortina-area figures separate from Dolomiti Superski network totals. The lifts page and the destination ski page do not publish one matching lift-and-kilometre pair for a single “Cortina only” boundary, so the table quotes each source’s wording rather than collapsing them.
| Published field | Exact source wording | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Cortina ski area slopes and lifts | “66 breathtaking slopes … served by 26 lifts” | Cortina lifts page — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm) |
| Valle skipass scope | Cortina d’Ampezzo area (also Skyline and Lagazuoi down to Armentarola), San Vito di Cadore and Auronzo-Misurina “for a total of 120 km of slopes” | Cortina lifts page — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm) |
| Destination-site piste length | “120 km of impeccably groomed slopes” on Faloria-Cristallo to the east and Tofana, Pocol, Cinque Torri, Falzarego to the west | Cortina destination ski page — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm) |
| Dolomiti Superski network | “1,200-kilometer ski carousel of slopes” / “all 12 valleys … a total of 1,200 km of slopes” | Destination ski page and lifts page — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm) |
| Town elevation | “1,224 m (4,016 ft)” | Wikipedia: Cortina d'Ampezzo — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm) |
| Named high point on the official map | “LAGAZUOI 2835 m” | Dolomiti Superski Cortina 2025–2026 trail map PDF — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm) |
Published specifications do not establish which terrain or lifts are open today. Other websites publish different lift counts (including 27, 35 or 36); this guide does not choose among those unofficial totals.
Is Cortina d'Ampezzo on the Ikon Pass?
Local Valle and Dolomiti Superski tickets should be checked first for the sectors you actually intend to ski. Ikon Pass lists Dolomiti Superski as an international destination, with access described as available between 15 November and 15 April and days shared among named areas that include Cortina d'Ampezzo, Kronplatz/Plan de Corones, Alta Badia, Val Gardena/Alpe di Siusi and others on the compare-passes page. Check the named product, travel dates, reservations and any blackout or day-limit rules with the pass company and the operator. Network membership alone does not establish your entitlement. Epic Pass inclusion is not claimed here.
Frequently asked questions
How is the Cortina ski area different from Dolomiti Superski?
The Cortina tourism lifts page treats them as two ticket scopes. Valle covers the Cortina d'Ampezzo area plus San Vito di Cadore and Auronzo-Misurina for 120 km of slopes. Dolomiti Superski covers all 12 valleys in that network, described as 1,200 km. A domain-wide headline is not a local-Cortina figure.
When can I ski in Cortina d'Ampezzo?
A multi-year typical opening and closing pair was not published on the official lifts and destination pages checked for this guide. Ikon describes Dolomiti Superski access as available between 15 November and 15 April; that is a pass-network window, not a guarantee that every Cortina sector is open on those dates. Confirm the current operating calendar with the operator.
Did Cortina host the Winter Olympics?
Yes. The destination site states that Cortina hosted Italy’s first Winter Olympic Games in 1956 and again took centre stage in 2026, hosting the Milano Cortina Winter Olympic Games. That history is useful context; it is not a snow or crowd forecast.
Which side of Cortina should I treat as my base?
The destination site splits the ski area into Faloria-Cristallo to the east and Tofana, Pocol, Cinque Torri and Falzarego to the west. Choose a meeting point and a ticket that match the side you will actually use, then check how you will cross if you want both.
Sources and limits
- Cortina lifts and skipass options — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm). Scope: 66 slopes and 26 lifts for the Cortina ski area; Valle versus Dolomiti Superski ticket scopes; not a queue or snow-depth dataset.
- Ski and snowboard in Cortina — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm). Scope: 120 km description, sector names, Dolomiti Superski origin story and Olympic host notes; marketing language is not treated as a terrain inventory.
- Dolomiti Superski Cortina 2025–2026 trail map PDF — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm). Scope: Named lift stations and labelled elevations such as Lagazuoi 2,835 m; header text on some map editions also states wider slope and lift totals that should not be mixed with the tourism lifts page without checking scope.
- OnTheSnow: Cortina d'Ampezzo historical snowfall — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm). Scope: Compiled monthly snowfall and average base depth, plus a season list from 2012–13 through 2025–26 (2020–21 not shown); measurement elevation not stated.
- Ikon Pass compare page, 26/27 — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm). Scope: Dolomiti Superski destination listing, named shared areas including Cortina d'Ampezzo, and the 15 November–15 April access window; individual entitlements not validated here.
- Wikipedia: Cortina d'Ampezzo — checked 2026-11-08 (Europe/Stockholm). Scope: Town elevation 1,224 m and Olympic-host history; Wikipedia ski-area lift and summit figures that conflict with the official lifts page are not used.
This Cortina d'Ampezzo assessment interprets the listed sources; it is not a first-hand visit report. Confirm the current operating calendar directly.
Plan the next step
Plan your Cortina d'Ampezzo budget. Compare: Zermatt, St. Anton.